Closing Down LACMA (New Year’s Day 2012)

Los Angelenos have taken ownership of sculptor Chris Burden's Urban Light. Here's my go.

When the LA Weekly asked me for significant architectural shifts in 2011, I asked architects, John Friedman and Alice Kimm, Lorcan O’Herlihy, Neil M. Denari and Stuart Magruder for their’s but couldn’t resist throwing in one of my own–LACMA. It’s not an individual building–Govan was famously saddled with LA’s big box development of the year in 2007 in BCAM. Instead it’s Govan’s understanding about how to create public interaction with space.

A few days later–New Year’s Day, actually–my friends’ Sharon and Frank Murphy and I ended up down there at the last minute. We settled into Stark, I drank a glass of very good scotch and then we cruised the galleries till we got thrown out. Was it eight? Eight thirty? It didn’t matter, accidentally–we’d had a perfect New Year’s Day.

Leave a Reply

